Permissions on iOS

Updated 2 months ago by Casey Case

At YouVersion, we value and protect your privacy. Our Terms of Service can be found online by going here, and our privacy policy can be found here

Device ID & Call Information
  • The Bible App does not monitor or record ANY audio, information or metadata
  • The app gets a cue to stop audio when you receive a call
  • The app “ducks” its audio (that is, turns it down slightly) when your device sounds a ringtone or other notification
Photos / Media / Files
  • The Bible App needs read / write access to store downloaded translations
  • It needs access to your camera roll for you to create your profile picture and to create / store your own Verse Images
  • It does not read or write media on your phone unless you initiate it
Identity
  • The Bible App requests access to your account list to make the signup process as simple as possible for you
  • This is so you can sign up using an account you already have (such as Facebook or Twitter)
  • The alternative is the more complicated “verify” step, where YouVersion sends you an email with a link that you have to click
  • YouVersion does not sell any personal information that you provide to us, nor do we share it without your express consent
Location
  • The Bible App only references your location when you access the “Events” function to look for YouVersion Events near you. See here
Contacts
  • This feature is needed for you to share the Bible App with your friends, or to invite your friends to connect with you in the App
  • It will only access your contacts when you initiate it
  • YouVersion does not send anything on your behalf unless you specifically request it
    • e.g.: sending a Bible verse to a friend as an email
Network (Internet & WiFi)
  • The Bible App sometimes needs to read data for tasks such as
    • playing audio and video
    • providing Bible chapters
    • syncing your recent highlights, etc. with the server
  • The app needs to be able to sense your network connectivity to know when to switch to “offline mode”
Prevent Phone from Sleeping
  • The Bible App needs this permission to keep the screen on during times when you’re reading but not touching the screen
  • It only prevents your screen from shutting off when the Bible App is running
  • This feature is not active when the Bible App is not running, nor does it affect other apps when they have control of your screen


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs