Offline versions on Android

Updated 1 month ago by Nizia Dantas

Using the Bible App Versions When Offline (No Internet Connection)

Before downloading a Bible version

  • Be signed in to the app on the mobile device (to create a YouVersion account, select link here)
  • Be sure to have a strong WiFi connection (preferred)
  • Bible versions take up less than .2GB
  • In some cases, publishers may request access to the email address associated with the account in order for the version to be downloaded
    • This will not generate advertising
Download Offline Translation
  1. Select the READ (Bible) button
  2. Select the version short code (e.g. KJV) to the right of the book and chapter
  3. Scroll through the list to find the preferred version
  4. Select the DOWNLOAD button (Not all versions will have this available)
  • Once downloaded, the word will be replaced with a check mark
Access Offline Translation
  • Be sure to access the version once while online before using offline
  • Activating Airplane Mode will allow version to be read without using data
  • Calls, text, and data cannot be accessed while in Airplane Mode
Delete Offline Translation
  • Sometimes it might be necessary to delete a downloaded version from the device in order to diagnose or fix a problem, or to free up space on your device
  1. Select More (three lines) button
  2. Scroll down and select Settings
  3. Scroll down and select Manage Offline Versions
  4. Select the drop down beside EXTERNAL or INTERNAL
  • You can also change storage location
  1. Select DELETE
  2. Select DELETE again to confirm

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Downloading a version only downloads the TEXT of the Bible for use offline (audio is not available for offline use)

Uninstalling the app from your device will delete all related files, including downloaded versions. However, updating the app via the app store should not affect them

Some versions, including NASB, AMP, and NLT were available for download for a short while in previous years, and are no longer available.  If deleted, they will not be recoverable


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs