Privacy details for Bible app friendships

Updated 3 months ago by Nizia Dantas

At YouVersion, we are very concerned about your privacy.  Please see the YouVersion Privacy Policy for full details.

Below is a list of what content can and cannot be viewed by users of The Bible App:

If you are not friends with any users

All of your content will be private and not be visible to any other users. The only exception to this is if you make a note with the privacy setting of Public or post items to social media.

Bookmarks, Highlights, Verse Images and Comments on those moments

If a user is NOT on your YouVersion friends list

  • The only content they can see is if you have a note that has the privacy setting of Public.
  • All other content you create (verse images, bookmarks, highlights and comments and likes associated with those) CANNOT be seen by any user that is not on your YouVersion friend list
  • There is currently no way to change the privacy settings of verse images, bookmarks and highlights  

If a user IS on your YouVersion friends list,

  • They can see all of your YouVersion friends
  • Then they can view your profile
  • They can see your verse images, bookmarks, highlights and comments and likes associated with those
  • They can see notes you create with the Privacy option set to Friends
  • Titles and labels of a bookmark CANNOT be seen by any users, including friends
  • There is no way to change the privacy settings of bookmarks and highlights

 Reading plan Moments

  • If a user is NOT on your YouVersion friends list, they will not be able to see any reading plan information
  • If a user IS on your YouVersion friend list, they will only be able to see your reading plan progress if you specifically allow them to
  • You will be prompted for this when you first start a plan and can update it in settings at any time


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)