Differences between Plans and Plans With Friends

Updated 1 month ago by Isaac Eichelberger

When you start a plan you will see two options.

By Myself or With Friends 

By Myself

  • Select the arrow behind By Myself to set the privacy to Private or Visible to Friends  
  • Select your device type and then go to the articles under Reading Plans
  • For privacy on plans and YouVersion friends select link  here

With Friends

  • Allows the ability to engage in God’s Word with a select group of  friends in the Bible app on a specified reading plan
  • Is started by a host who invites others to join
  • Is for a specific time only. No Catch me Up
  • On the apps the host can move start date before the plan starts under Plan Menu (three dots) and then Settings
  • Each participant's progress is displayed for each day with a check mark if they have completed the reading
  • Has a Talk it Over comment section as part of each day so that each participant can make comments for other participants to read
  • Plans with Friends moments are not displayed on the Home Feed 
    • Plans with Friends will show participant icons on the My Plans page
    • On the weekly calendar, participants progress is displayed with a check mark behind the friend icon
    • Comments can be viewed in the Talk it Over section for each day
  • Privacy is set by the software to only participants in the group. Friends of participants or public can't see group plan activity 
  • Emails reception from participants is set in each plan and not in general notifications
    • You can also unsubscribe by selecting the unsubscribe at the end of the email


How did we do?