Help Center

Privacy details for YouVersion friendships

Last Updated: Nov 04, 2017 05:00PM CDT
At YouVersion we are very concerned about your privacy.  Please see the YouVersion Privacy Policy for full details.

Below is a list of what content can and cannot be viewed by users of The Bible App:

If you are not friends with any users

All of your content will be private and not be visible to any other users. The only exception to this is if you make a note with the privacy setting of Public or post items to social media.

Regular Reading plan 
  • If you are NOT friends with a user, they will not be able to see any reading plan information
  • If you are friends with a user, they will only be able to see your reading plan progress if you select Share with Friends
  • You will be prompted for this when you first start a plan and choose By Myself to select the privacy
  • You  can update it in that plan settings at any time
Plans with Friends
  • Comments in the Talk it Over field are only seen by all participants in the plan
  • You must be the host or be invited by the host to be a participant 
  • None of your other YouVersion friends can see any content
 
Bookmarks, Highlights and Comments

If you ARE NOT friends with a user
  • then they CANNOT see any of your content. The only exception to this is if you have a note that has the privacy setting of Public.
  • All other content you create (bookmarks and highlights and comments and likes associated with those) CANNOT be seen by any user that you are not friends with.
  • There is no way to change the privacy settings of bookmarks and highlights  
If you ARE friends with a user,
  • Then they can see all of your created content
  • The only exception to this is if you have a note that has a privacy setting of Private
  • All other content you create (bookmarks and highlights and comments and likes associated with those) can be seen by a user that you are friends with
  • Titles and labels of a bookmark CANNOT be seen by any users, including friends
  • There is no way to change the privacy settings of bookmarks and highlights
 
 
b95b159032cc27f730b04173be65d460@youversion.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete